Get Over It

Easier said than done

Considering how far we’ve come.

You snuck up from behind

And swept me off my feet.

Now nightly in my mind I rewind

to when things between us weren’t so bleak.

When you would see my face and smile

While I did just the same.

The joy I felt when I heard your name

has turned into pain and regret.

And I bet, that weeks from now,

maybe even months, or years

I’ll remember your face

and be brought to tears.

 

If someone told me I could forget it all,

Without hesitation, I would heed their call.

Rather than crash into the looming wall

of misery and pain that plaques me

when thoughts of you enter my brain.

Your love left a stain darling

when you flew off like a starling.

 

Leave a Reply

